Card data held by OFN when using Stripe payment processor

Could you please confirm what card details are held in OFN when using the Stripe payment processor. I’ve read in another post that these details are only held at Stripe. However, when I log in to the administrative area of OFN I can see the last four digits of the card for a recent payment and the expiry date of the card. Is any other card data held within the OFN system?

Hello William. I am a bit new to Stripe but my understanding is that Stripe enables the shopper to authorize an OFN shopfront to use their card for ongoing transacations without the shopper having to re-enter card details each time. There is also the option for the shopper to set up several cards. So my understanding is that the full card details are held securely by Stripe and that OFN only holds a reference for each card so that the shopper can choose which card to use.

I will ask @Lynne.OFN.Tech to put me right if this is not accurate.

Hi William and Nick,
Fundamentally you are correct, Nick.
OFN stores absolutely no credit card data. Instead we do a secure request to Stripe to access card details each time.
Hope that helps.
Lynne

Thanks for the clarification @Lynne.OFN.Tech, but could you confirm how the OFN software is able to show the last four digits of the card and the expiry date? I found this by looking at the transaction record for a recent payment.

Screenshot below (with sensitive data removed).

Screenshot-2018-1-22 Payments - OFN Administration

@wmortada Although I can’t answer the “how” in technical terms, the last four digits and expiry date can’t compromise anyone’s card information. If this is all that’s showing, all is well.

Thanks @olivermuller. Yes, it’s just the last four digits and the expiry date that are showing. However, I would like to know what is actually stored in the OFN database so the “how” is quite important.

There are three possibilities that I can think of: